R#1: Decluttering life, Simplification, and KonMari!

The essences that stuck my mind when I learnt the concept of KonMari. Keeping only those items that spark joy. That sparks an instant connection on ho

Echoing the sentiments, life full of clutters.

There are times, I feel that I’m buried with things.
Cluttered living, abundant of materials, overwhelming information, and almost all kind of attention robbing events, from notification phone, on computer, to younger family members, call of responsibility, workspace phone calls, emails, meeting invitation, appointments, how much we have left and get to craft it for ourselves, and how much does that matter to ourselves?

There are times, I made acquisition of things under the imagination those may improve my situation; ended it was left aside forgotten. Example in the spur of moment I was buying and imagining healthy lifestyle, clean diet. Right afterwards it sit for a while in the fridge, and as I get occupied over the week, I forgot those goodness sitting in the fridge, and left unattended.

Then I discover KonMari philosophy and methods over the internet. That first rules always start with Tidying. I admit whenever I was tidying up something, I feel the joy of doing so. I feel some sense of energy in the process whenever I get to see a cleaner outcome, and more functional space afterwards. that create a sense of reinforcement of my relationship with my belongings, and how should I make better use of them in the future. One of the tips from KonMari would be tidying things based on categories over locations; and from the lightweight items, to those ‘heavy’ items, such as clothes, books, papers, and last only sentimental items. To me, perhaps all these starts from my bag, my desk then to clothes.. I yet to learn everything about KonMari, at least I know that’s not a quick fix method, it’s a lifelong habit adoption, to embrace it methodologically. I shall learn know more about it.

Organise the Digital Items with PARA method

no longer ago, I heard from a Podcast, recap about a book on ‘The PARA method’ (amazon.com/PARA-Method-Simplify-Organize-Di..) , though it’s a synthesized information, this give me a renewed perspective on how I organise things. I do love to group things together, I never thought that there could be a more effective ways of doing so. Speaking of the methods, it goes into ‘Projects, Areas, Resources, Archives’ . from the key concept of identity what are those active projects, for example in my case, writing this blog, maintaining this publication, areas be like my personal life, my workspace things, resources: could be how to use internet, publication platform, how to write faster, archives maybe some those past knowledge, notes, that I have done, or a project readily for archiving. The PARA methods give me a renewed perspective how to keep things for my digital life.

Organise our diet with a Reducetarian Approach

I’ve been thinking how could I adopt a vegetarian lifestyle. Just in most situation I think that can be difficult; or may have to adapt to the situation dining with family members, and friends, perhaps to conform to the occasion. I attract to its benefit of cleaner diet, and at least I’d feel less groggy. Not long ago I came across the article on the concept of Reducetarian on Read Digest; readersdigest.co.uk/lifestyle/environment/6.. . At least knowing this ; that strengthen my belief. I may have a chance to re-think how should I approach my meal, I may opt for more plant based diet, lesser meat, and pick something that suits me. More importantly having something easier to consume, I get to finish my food, and reduce waste. Imagine, for every dinner, a clean plate is the goal.

I think there are many more adjustment we’re able to make in our life. Decluttering life can be a life long goal, all it takes, start small, build deep into the habit, and we would see result in long run.